The Best Laid Plans..

Hello again! 2017 has officially arrived. We are entering into a wild reality where Donald Trump is president and Kim Kardashian no longer tweets. Not too many people would have believed that a year ago.  And that is why peering into the fuzzy future of a new year is kind of scary. Is it going to be good? Is it going to be bad? For the love of all that is holy, please let it be good. For me, the start of  the new year is a mixture of dread and relief. January is one of the most grueling months. It’s long, cold, and the end of winter is not yet in sight. We have to say goodbye to the holiday season and the sadly all the festive lights. Christmas lights brighten up the streets and make dark winter nights a little brighter. I wish they stayed up all season long. The nice thing about a new trip around the sun is being able to say sayonara to the previous year and the parts of me that I would like to leave behind. The potential is within our grasp.

In between reading top 100 lists and stuffing my face with Lindt chocolates, I’ve been thinking about what direction I’d like to steer my ship in. In general, my goal is make more of a conscious effort in my daily life. I’ve always been a Type B personality, so I’ve never tried as hard as I could. I have an easy time floating along. I’ve made some specific goals to counteract this, like being active every day in some capacity (today we went skiing!) and doing some form of writing each day.  In 2016, I started doing this blog, mainly as a writing exercise and to keep me on a topic. Ultimately it also helped me think about my daily life more. What do we as a community have in common? What are our shared goal and struggles? It makes daily life a lot more engaging. My specific 2017 Big Goal is to have a piece of my writing published in some capacity, hopefully in a local magazine or publication.

The problem with the best laid plans is that they often go awry. The City was sitting in a nice position heading into the end of 2016 with money in the bank leftover from the snow clearing budget. Unfortunately, we had those two big blizzards that ended up wiping the surplus out. And so the budget for 2017 is going to have to be re-calibrated because they had taken the surplus into account. Unfortunately sometimes that’s how it goes. When I fall off the wagon, it can be a positive thing to be a Type B because I don’t beat myself up about it. It’s inevitable that some days are going to be too busy, challenging or all-around disastrous and I’ll lay defeated, on the couch, binge-watching Gilmore Girls for 5 hours. My goal is to not let those days derail me completely. If I can manage a walk down the street or write a single sentence, then I’m still moving forward. So cheers to 2017, onwards and upwards!

 

Leave a Reply

